Search

College of Arts & Sciences


Dr. Katherine Abernathy
Associate Professor of English
kabernathy@umobile.edu
251.442.2467

Education:
B.A. - Mobile College
M.A. - University of Dallas
Ph.D. - University of Dallas


Mrs. Maria "Lourdes" Baumer
Instructor in Spanish
mbaumer@umobile.edu
251.442.2786

Education: 
B.S. - Universidad San Francisco
M.E. - Universidad San Francisco


Dr. Bethany J. Bear
Assistant Professor of English
bbear@umobile.edu
251.442.2345

Education: 
B.A. - Carson-Newman College
Ph.D. - Baylor University


Dr. Tom Bevill
Professor of Marriage and Family Counseling and Christian Studies
tbevill@umobile.edu
251.442.2411

Education: 
B.S. - University of Southern Mississippi
M.R.E., Ed.D. - New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary


Dr. Julie Biskner
Assistant Professor of Political Science
jbiskner@umobile.edu
251.442.2556

Education: 
B.A. - Central Michigan University
M.A. - Georgia Southern University
M.A. - University of Virginia
Ph.D. - University of Virginia


Dr. Luke Brekke
Assistant Professor of History
lbrekke@umobile.edu
251.442.2983

Education: 
B.A. - St. Olaf College
M.A. - University of Minnesota
Ph.D. - University of Minnesota


Mrs. Barbara Brousseau
Instructor of French
bbrousseau@umobile.edu
251.442.2786

Education: 
B.S. - Georgetown University
M.A.T. - Trinity College
M.A. - Universite Laval


Dr. Lonnie Burnett
Professor of History
lburnett@umobile.edu
251.442.2319

Education: 
B.A. - Mobile College
M.A. - University of South Alabama
Ph.D. - University of Southern Mississippi


Mr. Steve Carey
Associate Professor of Biology
scarey@umobile.edu
251.442.2346

Education: 
B.S. - Salem College
M.S. - University of Southern Mississippi

 

Ms. Megan Cary
Assistant Professor of Art
mcary@umobile.edu
251.442.2676

Education: 
B.F.A. - University of South Alabama
M.F.A. - Savannah College of Art & Design


Dr. Cassidy J. Cooper
Assistant Professor of Sociology
ccooper@umobile.edu
251.442.2586

Education: 
B.A., M.A., Ph.D. - Baylor University


Mr. Phillip Counselman
Associate Professor of Art
pcounselman@umobile.edu
251.442.2283

Education: 
B.A. - University of Mobile
B.F.A. - University of South Alabama
M.F.A. - University of North Carolina at Greensboro

 

Dr. Matthew L. Downs
Assistant Professor of History
mdowns@umobile.edu
251.442.2588

Education: 
B.A. - Birmingham-Southern College
M.A. - University of Alabama
Ph. D. - University of Alabama


Mrs. Kim Fobes
Instructor in English
kfobes@umobile.edu
251.442.2307

Education: 
B.A. - University of Mobile
M.A. - University of Mobile


Dr. Troy Henderson
Associate Professor of Mathematics
thenderson@umobile.edu
251.442.2298

Education: 
B.S., M.A. - University of Alabama
Ph.D. - Texas A&M University


Ms. Alison K. Henry
Instructor in Biology
ahenry@umobile.edu
251.442.2258

Education: 
B.A. - Texas A&M University
M.S. - Virginia Tech University


Dr. Buddy Landry
Assistant Professor of Marriage and Family Counseling
rlandry@umobile.edu
251.442.2293

Education: 
A.A. - Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
B.A. - Mississippi College
M.Div., Ph.D. - New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary


Dr. Ted Mashburn
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Humanities
tmashburn@umobile.edu
251.442.2391

Education: 
B.A. Livingston University
M.Div. - Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.Th. - New College, University of Edinburgh
D.Phil. - University of Oxford


Dr. James Minton
Professor of Psychology and Counseling
jminton@umobile.edu
251.442.2351

Education: 
B.A. - Louisiana College
M.R.E. - New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
M.Ed. - University of New Orleans
Ph.D. - New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary


Dr. Doug Mitchell
Professor of English
dmitchell@umobile.edu
251.442.2308

Education: 
B.A. - Louisiana State University
M.A., Ph.D. - University of North Carolina


Dr. Gyromas W. Newman
Assistant Professor of Communication
gnewman@umobile.edu
251.442.2573

Education: 
B.A., M.A. - University of South Alabama
Ph.D. - University of Alabama


Dr. Michael Robinson
Assistant Professor of History
mrobinson@umobile.edu
251.442.2249

Education: 
B.S. - North Carolina State University
M.A. - University of North Carolina Wilmington
Ph.D. - Louisiana State University


Dr. Stephen J. Schuler
Assistant Professor of English
sschuler@umobile.edu
251.442.2426

Education: 
B.A. - Grace College
Ph.D. - Baylor University


Dr. Gail Shelly
Professor of Chemistry
gshelly@umobile.edu
251.442.2490

Education: 
B.S., B.A. - University of California, Irvine
Ph.D. - University of California, Los Angeles



Dr. Dwight Steedley
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Chair, Department of Mathematics and Natural Sciences; Professor of Mathematics
dsteedley@umobile.edu
251.442.2314

Education: 
B.S. - University of Alabama
M.S. - Mississippi State University
Ph.D. - Auburn University


Dr. Joseph West
Professor of Mathematics
jwest@umobile.edu
251.442.2316

Education: 
B.S., M.A., Ph.D. - University of Alabama


Mr. Jacob Woodruff
Instructor of Physics
jwoodruff@umobile.edu
251.442.2248

Education: 
B.S. - University of South Alabama
M.S. - University of Alabama Huntsville




 

School of Business


Dr. Jane Byrd
Professor of Management and Accounting
jbyrd@umobile.edu
251.442.2233

Education: 
B.S., M.B.A. - University of South Alabama
D.B.A. - Nova Southeastern University

 

Mr. Nicholas Cillo
Assistant Professor of Management and Finance
ncillo@umobile.edu
251.442.2371

Education: 
B.S. - Duquesne University
M.B.A. - Long Island university
M.S. - University of South Alabama


Mr. Michael Davis
Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems
mdavis@umobile.edu
251.442.2334

Education: 
B.S. - Jacksonville State University
M.S. - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Kathy C. Dunning
Chair, Accounting Department; Assistant Professor of Accounting
kdunning@umobile.edu
251.442.2281

Education: 
B.S., M.S., M.B.A. - University of Alabama
CFM, CMA, Doctoral Studies - Argosy University


Dr. Randall DuPont
Associate Professor of Business
rdupont@umobile.edu
251.442.2443

Education: 
B.A. - Nicholls State University
M.B.A. - University of Mobile
D.B.A. - Nova Southeastern University


Dr. Jane Finley
Dean, School of Business; Chair, Department of Business Administration;Associate Professor of Marketing/Finance
jfinley@umobile.edu
251.442.2410

Education: 
B.S., M.B.A. - University of Alabama
D.B.A. - Mississippi State University

 

Dr. Nancy Gautier
Professor of Computer Information Systems and Mathematics
ngautier@umobile.edu
251.442.2572

Education: 
A.S., B.A. - Southeastern Louisiana University
M.N.S., Ph.D. - Louisiana State University


Mr. Rusty Roberts
Assistant Professor of Accounting
rroberts@umobile.edu
251.442.2464

Education: 
B.S. - University of Mobile
M.AC. - University of South Alabama


Dr. Amy Taylor
Assistant Professor of Business and Economics
ataylor@umobile.edu
251.442.2409

Education: 
B.S. - University of South Alabama
M.B.A., M.Ed. - Mississippi College
Ph.D. - University of South Alabama

   

 

School of Christian Ministries

Dr. Robert Olsen
Assistant Professor of Christian Ministries
rolsen@umobile.edu
251.442.2205

Education: 
B.A. - North Carolina State University
M.Div. - Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Ph.D. - Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

Dr. Jay Robertson
Assistant Professor of Christian Ministries
jrobertson@umobile.edu
251.442.2335

Education: 
B.A. - University of North Carolina at Greensboro
M.Div.,Ph.D. - Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary


Dr. Joe Savage
Executive Dean, School of Christian Ministries;
Director, Center for Leadership
jsavage@umobile.edu
251.675.7551

Education: 
B.A. - University of Mobile
M.Div. - Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
D.Min. - New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary


Dr. Doug Wilson
Dean, School of Christian Ministries;
Professor of Christian Ministries

dwilson@umobile.edu
251.442.2267

Education: 
B.S. - Toccoa Falls College
M.Div., Ph.D. - Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary


 

School of Education


Dr. William Carroll
Professor of Human Performance and Exercise Science; Director of Athletic Training Education Program
bcarroll@umobile.edu
251.442.2324

Education: 
B.A. - University of Illinois
M.S. - Indiana University
J.D. - Birmingham School of Law
Ed.D. - U.S. Sports Academy


Mrs. Debra Chancey
Assistant Professor in Education
dchancey@umobile.edu
251.442.2313

Education: 
B.A. - Mobile College
M.A. - University of Mobile
Additional graduate studies - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Brenda Chastain
Assistant Professor in Education
bchastain@umobile.edu
251.442.2354

Education: 
B.S. - Troy State University
M.A. - University of South Alabama
Ed.S. - University of South Alabama


Dr. Carolyn D. Corliss
Associate Professor of Education and Certification Officer
ccorliss@umobile.edu
251.442.2276

Education: 
B.S. - Troy State University
M.Ed. - Auburn University in Montgomery
Ed.D. - Auburn University


Dr. Enrico Esposito
Associate Professor of HPES
resposito@umobile.edu
251.442.2592

Education: 
B.A. - Catholic University of America
M.S.S. - United States Sports Academy
D.C. - Life University


Dr. Sue Gober
Chair, Department of Elementary/Secondary Education; Professor of Education
sgober@umobile.edu
251.442.2352

Education: 
B.S. - Education, Auburn University
M.Ed. - Lamar University
Ed.D. - University of Houston


Dr. Nancy Huff
Chair, Department of Human Performance and Exercise Science; Professor of Human Performance and Exercise Science
nhuff@umobile.edu
251.442.2362

Education: 
B.S. - Mobile College
M.A. - University of South Alabama
Ed.D. - University of Southern Mississippi


Mrs. Stephanie Hulon
Assistant Professor of Education
shulon@umobile.edu
251.442.2341

Education: 
B.S. - University of Mobile
M.E. - University of South Alabama
Doctoral Studies - University of South Alabama


Dr. Peter Kingsford
Dean, School of Education
Associate Professor of Education
pkingsford@umobile.edu
251.442.2355

Education: 
B.A. - Barrington College
M.A. - University of South Alabama
Ed.D. - University of Alabama


Dr. Melissa Thomas
Assistant Professor of Education
mthomas@umobile.edu
251.442.2561

Education: 
B.S., M.A. - University of Mobile
Ed.D. - United States Sports Academy



Dr. Joyce Woodburn
Assistant Professor of Education
jwoodburn@umobile.edu
251.442.2353

Education: 
B.A. - University of California
M.E. - Alabama State University
Ed.D. - University of West Florida



Center for Performing Arts/School of Music & School of Worship Leadership


Dr. Roger Breland
Vice President for Project Development; Executive Director, Center for Performing Arts
rbreland@umobile.edu
251.442.2216

Education: 
B.M.E. - Troy State University
Doctor of Humanities - Liberty University



Mr. Steve Dunn
Assistant Professor of Music
sdunn@umobile.edu
251.442.2447

Education: 
B.A. - Jacksonville State University
M.M. - University of New Mexico


Mr. Bruce Earnest
Assistant Dean; Associate Professor of Musical Theatre
bearnest@umobile.edu
251.442.2325

Education: 
B.A. - Westfield State College
M.M. - University of Miami


Mrs. Rebecca Fox
Associate Professor of Music
bfox@umobile.edu
251.442.2323

Education: 
B.M., M.M. - William Carey College
Doctoral Studies - University of Southern Mississippi


Mr. Keone Fuqua
Assistant Professor of Musical Theatre
kfuqua@umobile.edu
251.442.2553

Education: 
B.A. - University of South Alabama
M.F.A. - University of Southern Mississippi


Dr. Kathryn Hedlund
Assistant Professor of Music
khedlund@umobile.edu
251.442.2897

Education: 
B.M. - University of Michigan
M.M., Doctor of Musical Arts - Louisiana State University


Mr. Kenneth Hughes
Assistant Professor of Music
khughes@umobile.edu
251.442.2321

Education: 
B.M.E. - University of Oklahoma
M.M.E. - Wichita State University


Dr. Patrick Jacobs
Associate Professor of Music
pjacobs@umobile.edu
251.442.2554

Education: 
B.M. - Loyola University, New Orleans
M.M. - University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music
D.M.A. - State University of New York at Stony Brook


Dr. Charise Lindsay
Associate Professor of Music
clindsay@umobile.edu
251.442.2315

Education: 
B.A. - Milligan College
M.M. - Butler University
Ph.D. - Florida State University


Mr. Christopher Lovely
Assistant Professor of Music
clovely@umobile.edu
251.442.2896

Education: 
B.M. - William Carey College
M.M. - University of Southern Mississippi
Doctoral Studies - University of Southern Mississippi


Dr. Al Miller
Dean, Center for Performing Arts/School of Music; Dean, School of Worship Leadership;
Professor of Music
amiller@umobile.edu
251.442.2357

Education: 
B.S. - University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
M.M.E. - Samford University
Ph.D. - Florida State University


School of Nursing


Mrs. Diann Carithers
Associate Professor of Nursing
dcarithers@umobile.edu
251.442.2455

Education: 
B.S.N. - Vanderbilt University
M.S.N. - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Debra Chastang
Associate Professor of Nursing
dchastang@umobile.edu
251.442.2393

Education: 
A.D.N. - University of Mobile
B.S.N. - University of Mobile
M.S.N. - University of Mobile


Mrs. Mattie Easter
Assistant Professor of Nursing;
Coordinator of Nursing Admissions
measter@umobile.edu
251.442.2337

Education: 
A.D.N. - Mobile College
B.S.N., M.S.N. - University of South Alabama


Dr. Linda Fontenot
Associate Professor of Nursing
lfontenot@umobile.edu
251.442.2339

Education: 
B.S.N. - University of South Alabama
M.S.N. - University of Alabama in Birmingham
D.N.P. - University of Tennessee


Mrs. Karen Jenkins
Assistant Professor of Nursing
kjenkins@umobile.edu
251.442.2342

Education: 
B.S.N. - University of Alabama
M.S.N. - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Jenelle McElroy
Instructor in Nursing
jmcelroy@umobile.edu
251.442.2340

Education: 
B.S.N. - University of Mobile
M.S.N. - University of Mobile


Dr. Kathryn Sheppard
Associate Dean, School of Nursing; Chair, Department of Associate Degree in Nursing;
Professor of Nursing
ksheppard@umobile.edu
251.442.2343

Education: 
B.S.N. - Mobile College
M.S.N. - University of South Alabama
M.A. - University of Mobile
Ph.D. - University of Alabama in Birmingham


Mrs. Lee Anne Squires
Instructor in Nursing
lsquires@umobile.edu
251.442.2350

Education: 
B.S.N., M.S.N. - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Deborah Ward
Assistant Professor of Nursing
dward@umobile.edu
251.442.2348

Education: 
B.S. - Mobile College
B.S.N., M.S.N. - University of South Alabama


Mrs. Rebecca Ward
Assistant Professor of Nursing
rward@umobile.edu
251.442.2457

Education: 
B.S.N. - University of North Alabama
M.S.N. - University of Alabama - Huntsville


Mrs. Sarah Witherspoon
Assistant Professor of Nursing
switherspoon@umobile.edu
251.442.2445

Education: 
A.D.N. - Bishop State Community College
B.S.N., M.S.N. - University of Mobile


Dr. Janith Wood
Dean, School of Nursing; Chair, Department of Bachelor of Science in Nursing;Professor of Nursing
jwood@umobile.edu
251.442.2446

Education: 
B.S.N. - University of South Alabama
M.S.N., D.S.N. - University of Alabama in Birmingham
Post-Masters FNP - University of Mobile


 

 

Center for Adult Programs

Dr. Pamela S. Buchanan Miller
Dean, Center for Adult Programs;
Assistant Professor of General Studies

pamb@umobile.edu
251.442.2360

Education:
B.A. Journalism, M.A English - Southwest Texas State University
Ph.D. - University of South Alabama