News & Events

Prestigious Megginson Awards Presented to Outstanding UMobile Faculty and Staff

The 2011 Megginson Awards were presented to two University of Mobile faculty members and one staff member for excellence in categories of teaching, research and service.

The awards were presented by UMobile President Dr. Mark Foley at the university’s annual spring faculty and staff luncheon in May.

The William A. Megginson Teaching Award was presented to Associate Professor of English Dr. Douglas Mitchell. In addition to demonstrating excellence in the classroom, he serves as director of the Honors Program and hosts “The Thursday Club,” a poetry gathering for students and faculty members. Mitchell is an active contributor in scholarly publications, lectures and conferences and has served the university for 10 years.

The Mitford Ray Megginson Research Award was presented to Dr. Stephen Schuler, assistant professor of English. Schuler’s research includes a paper on John Milton’s philosophy of education according to the essay “Of Education” and the epic poem “Paradise Lost.” Schuler’s work was recently expanded and published in the “Journal of Faith and the Academy” after it was presented at a conference.

The Emma Frances Megginson Service Award was presented to Barbara Greene, assistant to the president. Throughout her 19 years in her role at the university, Greene has exhibited outstanding professionalism while serving as a personal resource to students for encouragement and support. In addition, she undertook the renovation of the university’s missionary home, giving countless hours to painting, cleaning, organizing and soliciting contributions to make it a welcoming place. Greene exemplifies “above and beyond” service to students, faculty and the university as a whole

The individuals who received the Megginson awards were nominated by letters from other faculty and staff members describing their character, ethics, accomplishments and contributions to the university.

Retiring faculty members were also honored at the luncheon. The honorees include Dr. Patricia Cooper, professor of Spanish; Dr. Billy Hinson, professor of history, Dr. Gene Perkins, professor of human performance and exercise science; and Dr. Judith Wilson, associate professor of chemistry.

Also honored at the luncheon were faculty and staff reaching milestones in years of service to the university. Honorees include:
35 years: Thomas Earl Bilbo.
30 years: Janith Carolyn Wood.
25 years: Carol M. Camp.
20 years: Mattie R. Easter.
15 years: Cynthia Biegler, Nicholas Cillo, Kimberly S. Howell, Peter Kingsford.
10 years: Randall L. Dupont, Sue Y. Gober, Karen Jenkins, Dale W. Johnson, James
Minton, Douglas L. Mitchell, Marty A. Naugle, Donna Elizabeth Ramer, Melissa G. Thomas, Douglas K. Wilson Jr., Sarah B. Witherspoon.
5 years: Lajena Benton, Debra Chancey, Becky Counselman, Leo Denton, Tamara
Eubanks, Carrie Green, Matthew Hicks, Bridgette Hill, Terri McCormick, Richard McElhaney, Kathy Perkins, Marty Pittman, Pete Sanchez, Sheryl Thornton, Larkisha Winbush, Charity Wittner.

The University of Mobile is a Christian university affiliated with the Alabama Baptist State Convention. UMobile offers undergraduate and graduate courses in over 40 areas of study through the College of Arts and Sciences; the schools of business, Christian studies, education, nursing and worship ministries; the Center for Performing Arts and the Center for Adult Programs.

To learn more about UMobile, visit or call Enrollment Services at 800.WIN.RAMS or 251.442.2222.

Dr. Douglas Mitchell, William A. Megginson Teaching Award

Dr. Stephen Schuler, Mitford Ray Megginson Research Award

Mrs. Barbara Greene, Emma Frances Megginson Service Award

Dr. Gene Perkins, charter faculty, retiring

Dr. Billy Hinson, retiring

Dr. Judith Wilson, retiring

Dr. Patricia Cooper, retiring

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Monthly Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust

Contact Us

University of Mobile
Office of Media Relations
5735 College Parkway
Mobile, AL 36613

Email the Director of Media Relations